Rachel Reeves

Member of Parliament for Leeds West

Local Election Triumph

The Labour Party regained overall control of Leeds City Council, following Thursday’s local government elections.

Labour now hold 55 council seats across the city, winning control of 7 new seats. The current political make-up of the council is as follows:

* Labour 55 (gain 7)
* Conservative 21 (lost 2, gained 1)
* Liberal Democrat 16 (lost 5)
* Morley Borough Independent 5 (lost 1)
* Green Party 2

Labour won two of the seats where Rachel has spent time campaigning in the last two weeks with Rebecca Charlwood taking Moortown and Neil Walshaw taking Headingley. The full list of Labour gains is as follows:

Burmantofts and Richmond Hill – Asghar Khan
Headingley – Neil Walshaw
Moortown – Rebecca Charlwood
Morley South – Neil Dawson
Rothwell – Karen Bruce
Roundhay – Christine McNiven
Temple Newsam - Katherine Mitchell

You can find the full list of election results on the Leeds City Council Website by clicking here.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.